Animal Defenders International

 

Animal Defenders International

ACT TODAY to ban traveling animal acts in the Commonwealth!

Posted: 21 October 2019. Updated: 21 October 2019

1

Taken from the wild, female Asian elephant Beulah spent her final hours in misery—just as she had most of her life. Used as a photo prop despite her ailing health, the Commerford Zoo Asian elephant collapsed and died at The Big E fair in Massachusetts last month. Days later it was revealed another of the zoo’s elephants, Karen, had also passed away, leaving Minnie (pictured here) all alone.

Animals used in traveling acts, like Beulah, Karen, and Minnie are confined in small spaces and deprived of their physical and social needs, spending excessive amounts of time shut in trailers and train cars. Abnormal behaviors such as rocking, swaying and pacing are often seen and indicate how these animals are in distress and not coping with their environment. ADI’s video evidence has shown they are forced to perform tricks through physical violence, fear and intimidation.

It is sadly too late for Beulah and Karen, but we can help Minnie and other animals still being used, and are suffering, for entertainment.

Reintroduced earlier this year, proposed state-wide legislation supported by ADI would prohibit traveling acts using elephants, big cats, primates and bears. Sponsored by State Senator Tarr and 27 cosponsors, S.2028 is to be considered by the Joint Committee on Tourism, Arts, and Cultural Development Committee on October 22. Its House companion H.2934 is sponsored by Representative Ehrlich and 79 cosponsors.

Please ACT TODAY to stop circus suffering in Massachusetts!


  • Urge the Joint Committee on Tourism, Arts, and Cultural Development Committee to support S.2028.

Copy the following email block to send to the full committee:

edward.kennedy@masenate.gov; Michael.Brady@masenate.gov; Diana.DiZoglio@masenate.gov; adam.hinds@masenate.gov; Nick.Collins@masenate.gov; Vinny.deMacedo@masenate.gov; Paul.McMurtry@mahouse.gov; Bruce.Ayers@mahouse.gov; Sean.Garballey@mahouse.gov; Tricia.Farley-Bouvier@mahouse.gov; Mary.Keefe@mahouse.gov; Rady.Mom@mahouse.gov; nika.elugardo@mahouse.gov; Natalie.Blais@mahouse.gov; tommy.vitolo@mahouse.gov; Mathew.Muratore@mahouse.gov; David.Vieira@mahouse.gov

  • Urge your legislator to support S.2028/H.2934, to end traveling wild animal acts. Find their details here
  • Attend the October 22 Committee meeting at 11am ET
  • Find details here

    Ten Massachusetts localities – Braintree, Cambridge, Pittsfield, Plymouth, Provincetown, Quincy, Revere, Somerville, Topsfield, and Weymouth - have already banned traveling wild animal acts. It’s time for state action!

    © Animal Defenders International 2019